India vs West Indies: Prithvi Shaw is set to become the 293rd Test player for India after a 12-man squad was announced on Wednesday. Mayank Agarwal does not find a spot in Kohli’s side. Shardul Thakur, in the meanwhile, does find a spot in the 12 members selected but it cannot be confirmed he makes the cut in the XI. In all likelihood, Prithvi Shaw will open with KL Rahul at the top of the order. Hanuma Vihari, who showed promise in England does not find a spot in the 12 members selected.

The squad:


Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Md. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur

The first Test between India and West Indies will be played at Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) in Rajkot. Siraj and Umesh are the two pacers who are going to make the XI.


Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

West Indies:

Kieran Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Roston Chase, Jahmar Hamilton, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Jomel Warrican, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel, Sherman Lewis