Indian football captain Sunil Chhetri was today named as 2017 All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year by the national body here.Also Read - Target is to be in Top 10 in Asia But For that Need Better Players Than Bhutia or Chhetri: Sunil Chhetri

Chhetri recently became the second Indian footballer to play 100 international games after Baichung Bhutia(107). In an interview, the skipper admitted that he had never thought that he would achieve the milestone of playing 100 games for India. The 33-year-old is still rooting for more collective accolades for team India. Also Read - Sunil Chhetri Credits Youngsters in Indian Team for SAFF Championships Triumph

The striker is Indian Football’s talisman, and it seems as if he gets better with age. Recently also achieved the incredible feat of equalling Lionel Messi’s international goals tally of 64, only behind the Portuguese forward, Cristiano Ronaldo. Also Read - India Blank Nepal 3-0, Win SAAF Championship For 8th Time; Sunil Chhetri Equals Lionel Messi With 80 Goals

Chhetri is a star striker and captain for both India and Bengaluru FC and an inspiration for all the young athletes across India. With an eye for finishing, he guarantees an impressive goal tally every season for both club and country.

While Chhetri was declared the 2017 AIFF Player of the Year in the men’s category, Kamala Devi was adjudged the 2017 AIFF woman Player of the Year.

Young Anirudh Thapa, who had impressed everyone with his performance in the four-nation Intercontinental Cup which India won, was declared as the 2017 Emerging Player of the Year.

E Panthoi was named as the 2017 woman Emerging Player of the Year, an AIFF statement said.

2017 AIFF Award winners: 

2017 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala FA.

2017 AIFF Award for long-time contribution to Indian Football: Hero Motocorp.

2017 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee: Sumanta Datta (Assam).

2017 AIFF Award for Best Referee: C R Srikrishna.

2017 AIFF Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year: E Panthoi.

2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year: Anirudh Thapa.

2017 AIFF Woman Footballer of the Year: Kamala Devi.

2017 AIFF Player of the Year: Sunil Chhetri.

(With Inputs From PTI)