Indian Premier League 2018: Delhi Daredevils made a big move by releasing some big names ahead of the highly-awaited player auction which is scheduled for next month. Skipper Gautam Gambhir, Australia’s Glenn Maxwell and India pacer Mohammed Shami have been released from the Daredevils squad ahead of the IPL Auction for the next edition. DD have once again shown faith in the talented young trio of –  Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer who will carry the baton for the perennial underachievers.

During the 2018 season, Daredevils failed to produce results under the captaincy of Gambhir, which prompted a move as he stepped down from the leadership role. Shreyas Iyer was made the new captain. Since Iyer took over their performance became better and Rishabh Pant with 684 runs in the season emerged as the leading run-getter.

Earlier, Shikhar Dhawan was traded from SunRisers Hyderabad to Daredevils in lieu three players Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem and Abhishek. Dhawan has been the leading run-scorer for Sunrisers with a tally of 2768 from 91 innings at an average of 35.03 and strike-rate of 125.13. In the 2018 IPL, he made 497 runs at 35.50. His impressive strike-rate was 142.82, better than his normal strike-rate of 136.91.

Unfortunately, Dhawan missed out from India’s Test squad for the much-awaited tour to Down Under. He will be making comeback to domestic cricket and will be in action for Delhi in Ranji Trophy.

Here’s the list of retained players

Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan (traded), Rishabh Pant, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane, Avesh Khan

Here’s a list of released players

Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Daniel Christian