Indian Premier League 2018: Kings XI Punjab released their list of retained players for the upcoming season of IPL and it was a surprise as they surprise as they left out Yuvraj Singh, who has been in good form in the domestic season. Chris Gayle and KL Rahul were retained along with Ravichandran Ashwin and David Miller. Also Read - Former Australia Captain Michael Clarke Heaps Big Praise on Sachin Tendulkar, Calls India Legend 'The Best Batsman I Ever Saw'

From the overseas lot, wily spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Season 11 Purple Cap-holder Andrew Tye, explosive opener Chris Gayle and David Miller will don the KXIP threads again. Mayank Agarwal and Ankit Rajpoot will be the uncapped players that will be seen in season 12 as well. Nine players have been retained and one has been traded as the franchise let go of 11 players. Also Read - IPL Under Closed Doors Will Restore Some Degree of Normalcy: Pat Cummins

It was good to see KL Rahul being retained after becoming the leading run-getter for the franchise last season. Also Read - David Warner Copies Ravindra Jadeja's Sword-Celebration in Throwback Video, Asks Fans For Verdict | WATCH

Meanwhile, Virender Sehwag will not be a part of the squad as well as Brad Hodge and Venkatesh Prasad are not a part of Punjab franchise now. Mike Hesson has been appointed as KXIP’s head coach while Sridharan Sriram has also joined the team’s backroom staff.

This leaves KXIP with at least eight more spots to complete the squad, which will be addressed in the player auction ahead of the next season.

Retained: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, David Miller and Ravichandran Ashwin

Released: Aaron Finch, Axar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Barinder Sran, Ben Dwarshuis, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar and Manzoor Dar

Traded: Marcus Stoinis for Mandeep Singh