Indian Premier League 2019: Shreyas Iyer has been named as the captain of Delhi Capitals for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League. Earlier known as Delhi Daredevils, the official rechristening of name took place at an official event in New Delhi. Delhi’s team management and top bosses conducted an official event for announcing the change, the event was live streamed on popular social media platform – Facebook. Ahead of the IPL 2019 player auction, the Delhi franchise also unveiled their new logo, with three tigers on its emblem at the event. Also Read - Australia vs India 2020 Test Series: Tim Paine, Marnus Labuschagne, Others Airlifted to NSW After COVID-19 Outbreak in South Australia

Ahead of the 2019 IPL auctions, the Delhi Daredevils released former captain Gautam Gambhir and a host of international stars which include Jason Roy, Glenn Maxwell and Liam Plunkett, along with Indian paceman Mohammed Shami. Also Read - Lanka Premier League 2020 News: Munaf Patel Joins Kandy Tuskers; Sarfaraz Ahmed Pulls Out, Lasith Malinga Too Unsure

Also Read - Bangladeshi Man Arrested For Giving Death Threat to Cricketer Shakib Al Hasan For Inaugurating Kali Puja

Hailed as perennial underachievers in the history of IPL, Delhi were in the news lately for surprising their fans ahead of the IPL player auction 2019. The two big changes were snubbing of local star – Gautam Gambhir, who was brought from Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 2.9 Cr was not retained ahead of the auction.

Co-owned by JSW Sports and GMR Group, the ‘Daredevils’, one of the original IPL teams from 2008, have not been able to win a single title in 11 seasons.

With an aim to make a fresh start in the league after years of underachievement, Delhi are the only franchise to have never made it to the final of any edition of the cash-rich IPL. The squad has already been bolstered by the return of Shikhar Dhawan, who has switched over from Sunrisers Hyderabad.

In a video message played during the event, Dhawan said that he is happy to be back to his home city and is looking forward to do well in the upcoming season. The Delhi-franchise also boasts of some series young Indian talents with the likes of – captain Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw in their ranks.

Mohammed Kaif was earlier named as the Delhi’s assistant coach while Ricky Ponting continues to be the head coach of the side.