The third season of the Indian Women’s League (IWL) is set to kick-off on May 5 at the Guru Nanak Stadium in Ludhiana, Punjab. Defending champions Rising Student’s Club will take on Gokulam Kerala FC in the opening match. As many as 12 teams, who are divided into two groups of six each, are set to participate in the tournament. Group I consists of Rising Student’s Club, Gokulam, FC Alakhpura, Hans Women Football Club, Central SSB Women Football Club, and Panjim Footballers. Meanwhile, Group II includes Manipur Police, Sethu FC Bangalore United FC, SAI-STC Cuttack, FC Kolhapur City, and Baroda Football Academy. Also Read - Navi Mumbai, Ahmedabad And Bhubaneswar Finalised as Venues For 2022 AFC Women's Asian Cup

All India Football Federation (AIFF) General Secretary, Kushal Das said, “Women’s football in our country is going through an exciting phase. We have seen the Indian Women’s Team produce some great results on the international front.” Also Read - I-League Likely to be Postponed to December End in Wake of Coronavirus Pandemic

“We are sure to see the rise of more talented players in the third season of the Hero Indian Women’s League. I would like to thank the Punjab Football Association for their support in hosting the IWL, and wish the participating clubs all the best for the tournament in Ludhiana,” he added. Also Read - Ahead of I-League Qualifiers, Two Footballers Test Positive For Coronavirus