The tenth season of Indian Premier League has come to an end. Mumbai Indians defeated Rising Pune Supergiant in the final at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad to win their third title. With this comes to an end the two-year contract of Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions.

The two teams had replaced Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for 2016 and 2017 season. Both CSK and RR were suspended for two years following spot-fixing scandal that rocked IPL. Also Read- IPL 2017: David Warner, Ben Stokes lead the pack of best performers in season 10

Once the IPL 2017 final between Pune and Mumbai ended, CSK’s official handled tweeted about their return to the league. “Next Summer, we will be there! #ManyHappyReturnsOfCSK” tweeted CSK. The handle also posted a picture of M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, CSK’s home ground, in next tweet.

CSK under the leadership of MS Dhoni won two back to back IPL titles in 2010 and 2011. Super Kings also won now discarded Champions League T20 trophies in 2010 and 2014. Also Read- Was Rohit Sharma sleeping during RPS vs MI IPL 2017 final? Watch video

Most of the CSK and RR players went to RPS and GL. While Dhoni captained RPS in its debut season, Suresh Raina, one of the mainstays of CSK, led Lions for two seasons.

It will be interesting to see if Super Kings can get back its top performers which include Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo apart from Dhoni and Raina. CSK was coached by Stephen Fleming who took the similar role with the Pune-based franchise.

Meanwhile, there was no such announcement by Rajasthan Royals’ official Twitter handle.