If there is one season in which bowlers dominated the most, it has to be the Indian Premier League 2017. The IPL 2017 or IPL 10 saw bowlers win matches for their sides and yes, the final between Rising Supergiant and Mumbai Indians was an extension of it. In a low-scoring final, MI bowlers did a fabulous job to defend 130 to help their side clinch the third IPL title.

Throughout the season bowlers dished out match-winning performances, and interestingly fast bowlers were more effective than the spinners. Something rare on Indian pitches. Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar ended up claiming the Purple Cap (most wickets) for the second time in a row. The pacer finished with 26 wickets from 14 matches. Next best was RPS’ Jaydev Unadkat, who scalped 24 wickets. Also Read- IPL 2017: A look back at some of the best moments from season 10

Imran Tahir is the only spinner to feature in top five on the most wickets list this season. The South African leggie, who found no takers during the IPL 2017 auction, did an excellent job for Pune. He picked 18 wickets from 12 matches and bowled some memorable bowling spells. Also Read- Mumbai Indians lift record third title, edge out Rising Pune Supergiant in one-run thriller

Sticking with the memorable bowling spells, many performances lifted teams up and helped them to win.

Andrew Tye 5/17 against Rising Pune Supergiant


Gujarat Lions’ bowler Andrew Tye made his IPL debut against RPS, and it proved to be a memorable outing for him. The Australian medium-pacer became the first bowler to take a hat-trick on IPL debut. Tye bettered his feat with a five-wicket haul and ended up registering figures of 5/17.

In his last over, Tye dismissed Ankit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary and Shardul Thakur to claim a hat-trick.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/19 against Kings XI Punjab


Purple Cap winner Bhuvneshwar Kumar was David Warner’s go-to man throughout the season. The pacer picked wickets for his side when most needed and was economical as well. Bhuvi helped SRH defend 160 against King XI Punjab at Hyderabad. Bhuvneshwar removed Hashim Amla and Glenn Maxwell in his first two overs to dent KXIP upfront.

Once Bhuvi was off the attack, Manan Vohra threatened to take the game away for SRH. The right-hander smashed 95 runs before Bhuvi accounted for him in his final spell. Bhuvneshwar bowled the decisive penultimate over of the match and picked two wickets, including Vohra, to help SRH win the game.

Samuel Badree 4/9 against Mumbai Indians


Here we try to list top five bowling performance of IPL 10Royal Challengers Bangalore did not have much to cheer this year. But one thing they will be proud of is Samuel Badree’s effort against Mumbai Indians. Badree clinched the first hat-trick of IPL 10.

The leg-spinner in his second over stunned MI as he removed Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenghan and Rohit Sharma in three consecutive deliveries. His effort left MI tottering at seven for four. However, MI ended up winning the match thanks to Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya’s partnership.

Washington Sundar 3/16 against Mumbai Indians


17-year-old Washington Sundar was picked as Ravi Ashwin’s replacement by Rising Pune Supergiant. The off-spinner featured in 11 matches for RPS but left an impact towards the end of the tournament. In the first qualifier, Sundar picked three crucial wickets to derail Mumbai Indians. The off-spinner accounted for Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu and Kieron Pollard and that proved to be the difference between the two sides. In the final, the spinner against the same opposition bowled economical and ended with figures of none for 13 in his four overs.

Karn Sharma 4/16 against Kolkata Knight Riders


After losing the first qualifier, MI faced KKR in the second qualifier. In a must-win match, Karn Sharma dished out a match-winning performance to take his side to victory. The leggie, who was considered ahead of Harbhajan Singh, picked up 4/16 as KKR were bundled out for 107 runs. Just like his counterpart, Sundar, Karn was economical in the finals.

Special Mention: The top performances was not limited to above mentioned only. As stressed earlier there were top notches performance throughout the season. Jasprit Bumrah was outstanding for MI right through the tournament. The pacer bowled a superb 17th over against RPS in the final. He not only picked the all-important wicket of MS Dhoni but gave away just three runs at a time when RPS needed 33 off 24 balls.


Jaydev Unadkat was a revelation for Rising Pune Supergiant as he spearheaded their bowling attack. Sandeep Sharma as always was at forefront for Kings XI Punjab.