Orange Cap or the most runs list this season is dominated by David Warner. Sunrisers Hyderabad failed to defend their title, but have something to cheer for. Two spots among top three on the most runs list belong to Sunrisers Hyderabad. While captain Warner is at number one position his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan is at third. Kolkata Knight Riders’ captain Gautam Gambhir is at second.

Interestingly, with Suresh Raina (442 runs) at fourth, the top four batsmen on the list belong to teams that are out of IPL 2017. However, on fifth is Rising Pune Supergiant captain Steve Smith. The RPS skipper has 421 runs under his belt and has one more match at his disposal to climb up the ladder. Also Check- Purple Cap in IPL 2017: List of leading wicket-takers of Indian Premier League 10

Orange Cap is handed to the batsman who scores most runs in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season. During the season, just like Purple one, the Orange cap sees many owners and eventually rests on the head of the leading run-scorer of the season. Also Check- IPL 2017 Points Table

Orange Cap/most runs in IPL 2017

1David Warner1414641
2Gautam Gambhir1616498
3Shikhar Dhawan1414479

Australia’s Shaun Marsh, playing for Kings XI Punjab, became the first batsman to win Orange Cap in 2008. Chris Gayle is the only player to win two and back to back Orange Caps. He achieved the feat in 2011 and 2012 season. Other players who have won the Orange Cap are David Warner (2015), Robin Uthappa (2014), Micheal Hussey (2013), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Mathew Hayden (2009).