Sunrisers Hyderabad fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar with 26 wickets from 14 matches continues to flaunt the Purple Cap. The fast bowler was also the Purple Cap winner in the last season.

Jaydev Unadkat moved to second place by claiming 24 wickets from 12 matches while Jasprit Bumrah climbed up to take the third spot with 20 wickets from 16 matches. Also Check- Orange Cap in IPL 2017: List of leading run scorers of Indian Premier League 10 

Purple Cap is handed to the bowler who takes the highest number of wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season. During the season, the cap sees many owners and eventually rests on the head of the highest wicket-taker of the season. The Purple Cap concept was introduced right from the inaugural edition of the league. Also Check- IPL 2017 Points Table

Purple Cap/most wickets in IPL 2017

1Bhuvneshwar Kumar1452.236926
2Jaydev Unadkat1245.532224
3Jasprit Bumrah1660.244420

Lasith Malinga, who won the Purple Cap during 2011 season, is the all-time highest wicket-taker in IPL. Pakistan’s Sohail Tanveer claimed 6/14 during the inaugural season, and it still remains the best bowling figures in IPL. Interestingly, the first Purple Cap of IPL was won by Tanveer who took 22 wickets in 11 matches while playing for Rajasthan Royals during 2008 season. Also Check- Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 Schedule

West Indies cricketer Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap twice, most in the history of IPL. He is also the highest wicket taker in a season with 32 wickets in 18 matches. The other Purple Cap winners are R.P Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel and Mohit Sharma.