Rising Pune Supergiant will be under tremendous pressure when they take on two-time champions Mumbai Indians in their opening game of season 10 of Indian Premier League. (IPL 2017: Full coverage)

Pune under new leadership of Steve Smith will seek much improved show after ending last season by winning just five matches. The team management took a bold step by removing MS Dhoni before the start to the season and for the first time since IPL started, the former India captain won’t lead a side.

However, all eyes will be on Ben Stokes, the most expensive player this season and not to forget the Pune outfit also
boasts of top players like Ajinkya Rahane and Faf du Plessis. Pune like other teams have injury woes with R Ashwin and Mitchell Marsh being ruled out and they have replaced them with Sundar Washington and Imran Tahir respectively. Also Read: Sundar Washington replaces R Ashwin at Pune

On the other hand Mumbai don’t have any injury related problems at the start as fit-again Rohit Sharma makes a comeback from a long layoff. Lasith Malinga, who is also making a return from an injury layoff will join the team on April 7, so will miss the first game.

Mumbai also have a new coach in Mahela Jayawardene after the former Sri Lanka captain replaced 2015 IPL-winning head coach Ricky Ponting.

Teams (from):

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (capt), Jasprit Bumrah, Jos Buttler, Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gowtham, Asela Gunaratne, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Kulwant Khejroliya, Siddhesh Lad, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Parthiv Patel, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Punia, Nitish Rana, Ambati Rayudu, Jitesh Sharma, Karn Sharma, Lendl Simmons, Tim Southee, Jagadeesha Suchith, Saurabh Tiwary, Vinay Kumar.

Rising Pune Supergiant: Steven Smith (capt), MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Faf du Plessis, Usman Khawaja, Manoj Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Sharma, Baba Aparajith, Ankush Bains, Rajat Bhatia, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar, Daniel Christian, Ashok Dinda, Lockie Ferguson, Jaskaran Singh, Saurabh Kumar, Milind Tandon, Jaydev Unadkat, Adam Zampa.