IPL Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders at Wankhede Stadium: Leading from the front – Dinesh Karthik grabbed one of the catches of the season to dismiss Mumbai Indians opener Quinton de Kock during the final league game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) season. Known for his athleticism and quick reflexes, Karthik is one of the safest hands behind the wicket when it comes to grabbing those difficult chances. (SCORECARD)

Chasing a modest total of 134 to win, de Kock and skipper Rohit Sharma provided Mumbai a breezy start as the duo knitted a crucial 46-run stand for the opening wicket versus Kolkata Knight Riders at Wankhede Stadium. Especially, de Kock teed off into Kolkata’s bowlers and took a special liking for Andre Russell, hitting him for 21 runs in one over. However, a short one from Prasidh Krishna at the body, de Kock top-edged a hook and skies it towards fine leg. The ball remained in the air for eternity but Karthik chases it down from the ‘keeper’s stop and dives full-stretch to complete a magnificent catch.


It was one of those inspirational moments by the KKR skipper, the kind of fairytale moment, that can turn a match, or even a tournament, on its head. But that remained a distant dream for Kolkata as Mumbai won the match comfortably by nine-wickets and 23 balls to spare.

Earlier, Andre Russell failed to deliver when it mattered the most as Kolkata Knight Riders scored a sub-par 133 for 7 in their ‘do-or die’ IPL game against Mumbai. KKR’s top run-scorer of this IPL, Russell (510 from 13 innings) was dismissed for a first ball duck as the visiting side frittered away a good start to post a modest total after being sent into bat.

Openers Chris Lynn (41 off 29 balls) and Shubman Gill (9 off 16 balls) put up 49 runs together in 6.1 overs but KKR suffered a middle-order collapse as Mumbai bowlers made a splendid comeback. It was left to Robin Uthappa (40 off 47 balls) and Nitish Rana (26 off 13 balls) to stitch a 47-run stand for the fifth wicket to take KKR past the 120-run mark.

Lasith Malinga (3/35), Hardik Pandya (2/20) and Jasprit Bumrah (2/31) were the main wicket-takers for the home side.