With the emergence of new talent, Suresh Raina might be struggling to find a place in the Team India squad but he continues to remains a vital cog and an important asset for one of the most popular franchise – Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Hailed as one of the best hitters of the white leather – Raina’s ability to clear the biggest of the grounds and score at a brisk pace has never been questioned. Playing his 10th season for beloved CSK franchise, Raina has gone behind the mic to express his delight in returning to the den this year.

In the latest video uploaded by Chennai Super Kings on their official Twitter handle, the 32-year old cricketer can be seen humming everyone’s favourite ‘Whistle Podu’ track. CSK captioned the image, “The whistlemax #ChinnaThala you just can’t get enough of! #WhistlePodu #YelloveAgain.”


Raina played a pivotal role to lead CSK to their third IPL title last year. In 15 IPL matches, he ended up scoring 445 runs at an average of 37.08 and a strike rate of 132.44. Reflecting on CSK’s victoru last year, Raina praised how the team played as a unit.

“If you see about CSK, last year we played really well as a team, as a unit while winning the title. The team hasn’t changed much this year. As a team, all the players look to be part of winning ways and we cherish each other’s success. I hope to achieve the personal milestones in Chennai in the upcoming season,” Raina was quoted as saying by Circle of Cricket.

Chennai Super Kings is one of the most followed IPL franchises. Expressing his love for Chennai and the franchise, Raina mentioned that the team belongs to the fans.

“I love Chennai, I love Tamil Nadu. We have a lot of fans here. I think this team belongs to the fans. The management has been just great with the players, with the support staff. We have been given the freedom to go to the ground and express ourselves. The focus is to entertain the crowd and win matches,” Raina added.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have remained a force to reckon with ever since the inception of the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. In all the editions of IPL, the men in yellow have managed to reach the playoffs.

They have ended as runners-up on four occasions (2008, 2012, 2013 and 2015) and won the title thrice (2010, 2011 and 2018) – joint-most along with Mumbai Indians (MI). The Yellow Brigade didn’t participated in the 2016 and 2017 edition of IPL due to the spot-fixing ban.