IPL 2019, Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals: Ecstatic after finding a spot in India’s 15-member World Cup squad, KL Rahul celebrated his return to the national side in a contrasting fashion. During match 32 of Indian Premier League (IPL) between Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals, Rahul batted a little too cautiously which caught everyone’s attention and made him the butt of jokes on the social media platform – Twitter. (SCORECARD)

After being put into bat first by Rajasthan skipper Ajinkya Rahane, Punjab openers – Chris Gayle and Rahul started the proceedings in a cautious manner as the visitors bowling attack showed great discipline. Gayle, later tried to up the tempo with some big hits but a brilliant delivery from Jofra Archer cut short his stay as he walk back to the pavilion for 30 (22 balls). On the other hand, the 26-year old Rahul continued to bat in a scratchy fashion as he managed to score only 8 runs off his first 20 balls.

Here’s how the Twitter world reacted on Rahul’s slow batting in Mohali:

On Monday, BCCI chief selector spoke about Rahul’s role in the Team India squad for the ICC World Cup 2019. MSK Prasad said, ‘To begin with, he will only be a reserve opener, but if the team management needs, he can bat in the middle order too’.

Rajasthan Royals skipper Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and elected to bowl against Kings XI Punjab in an IPL game here Tuesday. Former Australia skipper Steve Smith was left out from the Rajasthan playing XI.

Smith, who has managed to score only 186 runs in seven matches for Rajasthan, was replaced by fellow Australian Ashton Turner, who will make his IPL debut. Rajasthan made two more changes, bringing in Stuart Binny and Ish Sodhi.

Kings XI also made a couple of changes to their playing XI, replacing Sam Curran with David Miller and picking Arshdeep Singh instead of Sarfaraz Khan.

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane (C), Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Ashton Turner, Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ish Sodhi

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin (C), Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshdeep Singh