IPL 2019, Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Match 28: Chasing 174 to win versus Punjab, Bangalore captain Virat Kohli brought his ‘A-Game’ to the fore as he slammed his 36th IPL fifty against Kings XI Punjab in match 28 of Indian Premier League (IPL) in Mohali. During the knock, Kohli also surpassed Suresh Raina’s tally of 8145 runs to become the most prolific Indian batsman in T20 cricket. Interestingly, it took Virat 48 innings less than Raina to reach the landmark. Also Read - Anushka Sharma-Virat Kohli Spent Only 21 Days Together in 6 Months of Their Marriage

In the whole of T20 cricket worldwide, there are only five players who is players in the world who are ahead of Virat in the coveted list. Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik & David Warner are the other names in the list. However, Virat has a higher batting average than all five! Also Read - Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma Feature in AB de Villiers' Star-studded IPL XI; MS Dhoni to Lead Side

Right from the word go, Kohli batted like a man possessed as he timed the ball with sheer perfection and threaded gaps at will. After stitching a crucial 43-run-partnership with Parthiv (15) in 23 balls to provide RCB a solid start, he forged another important stand with AB de Villiers. Despite, Kohli’s decent run with the bat, Bangalore had failed to register any wins this season in the 12th edition of the lucrative league.

Earlier, Indian captain Kohli was named the Wisden Leading Cricketer of the year for the third successive time, having amassed 2735 runs across the three formats in 2018. In December, Kohli won the Cricketer of the Year award besides finishing as the top batsman in Tests.

The Indian talisman was picked as one of the five Wisden Cricketers of the year, along with England’s Tammy Beaumont, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran and Rory Burns. The India skipper is only the third cricketer ever to have won the award more than three times after Don Bradman (10 times) and Jack Hobbs (8 times).