IPL Final in Hyderabad on May 12, Women’s Games in Jaipur

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium of Hyderabad will host the final of the Indian Premier League on May 12 and Jaipur will host the women's matches from May 6.

Updated: April 22, 2019 8:38 PM IST

By India.com Sports Desk

File picture of the IPL trophy.
File picture of the IPL trophy.

The final of the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on May 12 after the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) wasn’t given permission to open stands I, J and K.

Also Read:

Chennai will now host Qualifier 1 while Vizag will host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2. While the playoffs are generally hosted in the venues of the winners and runners-up, certain challenges have seen the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) face this issue wherein they had to bring in Vizag in the picture. Qualifier 1 will be played on May 7 in Chennai.

Hyderabad was expected to host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2, but due to local elections scheduled on May 6, 10 and 14, that will not be possible as the police will not be in a position to provide the required security and permissions.

Vizag was kept as back-up and will now host the Eliminator on May 8 and Qualifier 2 on May 10. Jaipur will host all the four women’s matches. While the first match on May 6 is clashing with elections, RCA has got the required clearance.

The three women’s teams will be Trailblazers, Supernovas, and Velocity.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Cricket News on India.com.

Published Date: April 22, 2019 8:37 PM IST

Updated Date: April 22, 2019 8:38 PM IST