So we are finally down to the last few games in the Kabaddi World Cup. The second semifinal tonight will see India take on Thailand. It has to be said that India will go in as firm favourites as far as this match is concerned. India have been really solid in the tournament, barring a slight miss in the first match. The four teams playing the semifinals on 21st of October, will each come to the big matches with their own unique approach.

India, with an experienced raid team and solid defence to back them, will look to dominate Thailand when they face off in their semi-final match. India recovered very well from their last minute loss to Republic of Korea in the opening match and has won all its four remaining group stage matches easily. India’s opponent in the semi-final, Thailand, came to the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup with a young squad that is fit, agile and boasts of a strong defence.

We must also talk about the first semifinal which will be quite a cracker. Republic of Korea had started off the tournament on a high note by defeating one of the favourites, India, in the opening match of the tournament. They have won all five matches at the group stage and topped their group ahead of India. (Kabaddi World Cup 2016: Complete Schedule, Fixture, Time table, Date, Time & Venue Details)

Captain Dong Ju Hong and team will look towards charismatic raider Jan Kun Lee to energise the team with his exceptional performance. Jan Kun Lee raided brilliantly in the last minutes of their two toughest matches –  against India and Bangladesh – to help the team come back from behind and win. Iran were billed as one the favourites to win the World Cup trophy going into the tournament.

They have justified the expectations by playing exceptionally with Captain Meraj Sheyk leading from the front. The team is filled with stars especially in a power packed defensive unit which has made life tough for raiders across teams. One can expect a great contest when Republic of Korea’s raiders face off against Iran’s defense in their semi-final match.

India: Anup Kumar (captain), Rahul Chaudhari, Manjeet Chhillar, Jasvir Singh, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Pardeep Narwal, Mohit Chhillar, Surender Nada, Surjeet, Ajay Thakur, Dharmaraj Cheralathan, Kiran Parmar, Nitin Tomar, Sandeep Narwal

Thailand: Khomsan Thongkham (captain), Aniwat Phakphian, Chanwit Wichian, Phodsawi Sawangyai, Pramot Saising, Santi Bunchoet, Sarawut Hopet, Warit Songsri, Kittichai Kanket, Peeradach Jantajam, Phuwanai Wannasaen, Sasithon Rungsawang, Khunakon Chanjaroen, Tin Phonchoo