Jasia Akhtar of J&K has been selected for Women’s T20 Challenge team. Akhtar hails Shopian district of Jammu and Kashmir is playing for Punjab women’s team. Jasia has now got another accolade to her credit now as she has been called for Women’s India Premier League (IPL), scheduled to start on May 6. Also Read - 1st ODI Preview, India Women vs South Africa Women: World Cup Preparations Get Underway

Jasia told that she received a call from BCCI on April 24 and she has been told to join the team on May 2. It is a big achievement for this young girl as she will be the part of first women’s T20 challenge team from Jammu and Kashmir. Jasia will represent Trailblazers, led by Indian batswoman Smriti Mandhana, in the competition. Also Read - BCCI Announce India Women Squad For South Africa ODI, T20I Series; Mithali Raj to Lead in ODIs, Harmanpreet Kaur in-Charge of T20I Side

Meanwhile, Harmanpreet Kaur and Mithali Raja will lead the other two teams–Supernovas and Velocity, respectively.

Women’s T20 challenge will be played from May 6 to 11. A three-team tournament called the Women’s T20 Challenge will take place during the IPL 2019 playoffs. The matches of the tournament will be played on 6, 8 and 9 while as the final match of the tournament will be played on 11th May, and all the matches will be played at Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur.

All the match are expected to be telecast on Star Sports network.

The three squads are as follows:

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Jemimah Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver (England), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper).

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana (wicketkeeper), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (West Indies), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Suzie Bates (New Zealand).

Velocity: Mithali Raj (captain), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Danielle Wyatt (England), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wicketkeeper), Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy.