Kings XI Punjab Full List of Players Released And Retained

KL Rahul will lead the side and Chris Gayle has retained his spot. Nicolas Pooran also gets retained after a decent season. Mayank Agarwal’s retention was on expected lines. Sarfaraz Khan and Mandeep Singh also retain their spots. Glenn Maxwell and Sheldon Cottrell have been released along with five others.Also Read - Virat Kohli Gives Batting Tips to Afghan Stars After RCB Beat GT; Heartwarming Pic Goes VIRAL

With time running out, teams have hours to take a position on – who they would like to continue with and who do they opt to let off – ahead of the IPL 2021 Auction in February. After a successful tournament in UAE, most sides would look to keep the core intact, while they look to fill up gaps and loopholes. Also Read - Virender Sehwag Puts Rohit Sharma & KL Rahul's Spot Under Threat, Throws Two New Names In The Ring As Surprise Openers

Kings XI Punjab squad in IPL 2020 Also Read - Virender Sehwag Sparks Debate Over Sourav Ganguly And Virat Kohli's Captaincy - Who Is Better?

KL Rahul (c), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Sheldon Cottrell, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Arshdeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, M Ashwin, J Suchith, Harpreet Brar, Darshan Nalkande, Glenn Maxwell, James Neesham, Chris Jordan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, Nicholas Pooran, Prabhsimran Singh.​

The franchise’s call seems to be purely be based on performances. The show from Glenn Maxwell was below par along with Sheldon Cottrell. K Gowtham, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Jimmy Neesham, Hardus Viljoen and Karun Nair have also been released by the franchisee who played good cricket in patches last season.

Kings XI Punjab purse remaining: Rs 53.2cr

KXIP Retained 


KL Rahul (c)

Mandeep Singh

Nicholas Pooran

Chris Gayle

Prabhsimran Singh

Mayank Agarwal

Sarfaraz Khan

All Rounders

Harpreet Brar

Deepak Hooda


Chris Jordan

Arshdeep Singh

Mohammed Shami

Ravi Bishnoi

Ishan Porel

Murugan Ashwin

Darshan Nalkande

KXIP Released

  1. Glenn Maxwell
  2. Sheldon Cottrell
  3. K Gowtham
  4. Mueeb ur Rahman
  5. Jimmy Neesham
  6. Hardus Viljoen
  7. Karun Nair