New Delhi: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) started the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 auction on an aggressive note and went for almost all the marquee players on offer. However, their bids were surpassed by other franchises who used Right to Match (RTM) cards. However, KXIP managed to build a decent looking side. Also Read - IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals Appoint Kumar Sangakkara as Director of Cricket

Indian opener KL Rahul was KXIP’s costliest buy. The right-hander, who played for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), last season was picked by Punjab for whopping INR 11 Crore. The Punjab-based side also managed to pick Ravi Ashwin, thus strengthening their spin department. 

RCB Team Squad For IPL 2018: Final List of Royal Challengers Bangalore Players After Auction

RCB Team Squad For IPL 2018: Final List of Royal Challengers Bangalore Players After Auction

Also Read - IPL 2021 Auction: Three Players Kings XI Punjab Should Target For Upcoming Season

Using RTM cards, Kings XI brought back aggressive middle-order batsman David Miller, fast bowler Mohit Sharma and Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis. KXIP also were successful is picking Aaron Finch and Andrew Tye as one of their overseas players. Also Read - KKR vs RCB: Gautam Gambhir Points Out Difference Between the Two IPL Heavyweights

Interestingly, KXIP didn’t use RTM or tried to buy fast bowler Sandeep Sharma who has done very well for the franchise in the past seasons. The pacer was eventually picked by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Kings XI also managed to pick out of favour India batsman Yuvraj Singh for his base price. The left-hander has in the past represented the franchise. Not only Yuvraj, KXIP snapped Chris Gayle for his base price after the batsman was unsold twice.

KXIP Squad: Axar Patel (retained 12.5 Cr), R Ashwin (7.6 Cr), Yuvraj Singh (2 Cr), Karun Nair (5.6 Cr), KL Rahul (11 Cr), David Miller (3 Cr), Aaron Finch (6.2 Cr), Marcus Stoinis (6.2 Cr), Mayank Agarwal (1 Cr), Ankit Rajpoot (3 Cr), Manoj Tiwary (1 Cr), Mohit Sharma (2.4 Cr RTM), Mujeeb Zadran (4 Cr), Barinder Sran (2.2 Cr), Andrew Tye (7.2 Cr), Akshdeep Nath (1 Cr), Ben Dwarshius (1.4 Cr), Pardeep Sahu (20L), Mayank Dagar (20L), Chris Gayle (2 Cr), Manzoor Dar (20 L).