La Liga completed its 28th week, and it is once again proving out to be one hell of a roller coaster ride. Cristiano Ronaldo set up two goals to lead Real Madrid to a 2-1 win at Athletic Bilbao and a two-point lead in the Spanish league on Saturday.Also Read - Real Sociedad vs Real Madrid Live Streaming La Liga Santander in India: When and Where to Watch RS vs RM Live Stream Football Match Online on Voot, Jio TV; Telecast on MTV

The Portugal forward passed for Karim Benzema to open the scoring at San Mames Stadium in the 25th minute. Bilbao equalised through Aritz Aduriz’s header in the 65th, but three minutes later Ronaldo flicked on a corner kick for Casemiro to finish off and restore the visitors’ advantage for good. Also Read - Barcelona vs Betis Live Streaming La Liga Santander in India: When and Where to Watch BAR vs RB Live Stream Football Match Online on Voot, Jio TV; Telecast on MTV

Madrid has 65 points with second-placed Barcelona on 63. Also, Madrid have played one game less than Barcelona. Also Read - Ballon D'or 2021: Lionel Messi Does Not Deserve, Toni Kroos Reacts to PSG Man Winning it For 7th Time

In a different fixture, Lionel Messi scored twice as Barcelona came from behind to beat 10-man Valencia 4-2 in La Liga. With a win, Barcelona kept the pressure on Real Madrid at the top of La Liga.

In a different match, Las Palmas held onto a 1-0 victory against 10-man Villarreal in La Liga, as the visitors failed to put pressure on the top four sides in the division on Saturday.

Victor Ruiz’s 19th-minute sending-off seriously damaged the Yellow Submarine, but they fought back in the second half as they attempted to steal a point in Gran Canaria.

Kevin-Prince Boateng gave Los Amarillos the early lead, heading the ball home after just 10 minutes.

Las Palmas consolidate their mid-table position ahead of the weekend’s programme of matches, as Real Madrid host Sevilla, and Barcelona welcome Valencia.

Elsewhere, Eibar played against Espanyol and Enrique Garcia headed in Pedro Leon’s cross for Eibar in the 20th, before Espanyol midfielder Jose Jurado equalized shortly after halftime.

The splitting of the points did little to help both sides’ hopes of qualifying for the Europa League.

The Primera División, commonly known as La Liga is the top professional association football division of the Spanish football league system. Administrated by the Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), La Liga is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest placed teams relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams in that division plus the winner of a play-off.

FC Barcelona are the defending champions as on 14 May 2016, Barcelona won their sixth La Liga title in eight seasons with a 3–0 win on the final day of the season at Granada.

Check out the updated La Liga 2016-17 Points Table:

POS                TEAM    GP  WON DRAW  LOST  Points
  1          Real Madrid     27     20     5      2     65
  2             Barcleona     28     18     6      3     63
  3               Sevilla     28     17     6      4     57
  4         Atletico Madrid     28     15     7      5     55
  5            Villareal     28     13     9      6     48
  6         Real Sociedad     28     15     3      10     48
  7          Ath. Bilbao     28     13     5      10     44
  8            Eibar     28     11     8      9     41
  9           Espanyol     28     10     10      8     40
 10        Deportivo Alaves     28      10     10      8     40
 11            Celta Vigo     27      11     5      11     38
 12         Las Palmas     28      9     8      11     35
 13           Real Betis     28      8     7      13     31
 14          Valencia     28      8     6     14     30
 15           Malaga     28      6     9     13     27
 16          Deportivo     28     6     9     13     27
 17         Leganes     28      6     8     14     26
 18          Sporting     28      5     6     17     21
 19         Granada     28      4     7     17     19
 20         Osasuna     28      1     8     19     11

For those unfamiliar with finer points of the La Liga, here are few brief notes:

-The competition format follows the usual double round-robin format

-During the course of a season, which lasts from August to May, each club plays every other club twice, once at home and once away, for a total of 38 games.

-Teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points, with the highest-ranked club at the end of the season crowned champion.

-The three lowest placed teams in La Liga are relegated to the Segunda División, and the top two teams from the Segunda División promoted to La Liga.

-The top teams in La Liga qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The first, second, and third placed teams directly enter the group stage, and the fourth-placed team enters the playoffs for the group stage of UEFA Champions League.

-Teams placed fifth and sixth play in the UEFA Europa League, along with the cup winners. If both teams in the cup final finish in the top six, an additional berth in the Europa League is given to the team that finishes in seventh.