The union government of India honoured its citizen with the Padma Shri award for serving the country with creative work on Wednesday. The list included six names from the various fields of sports. This year the award list in highly influenced by Olympic as the 2016 Rio Olympic was the highlight of the year. These winners will be felicitated by President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the day of 68th Republic day of Thursday.

In 2016-2017 season Indian cricket fans have seen a swashbuckling performance from the Test team as they marched India to a 4-0 Test series victory against England at home and a 2-0 series victory in the Caribbean. Captain Virat Kohli scored record runs across the formats while his predecessor MS Dhoni also conferred on the Padma Shri award for his contribution to Indian cricket during his illustrious career.

However, they will not be able to attend the ceremony as they will take on England in Kanpur for the first T20 of a three-match series on this Thursday. Also read- (Virat Kohli to be conferred Padma Shri for his stunning performance)

Sakshi Malik: The starlet of Haryana became first Indian woman wrestler to win the bronze medal in amateur wrestling while her compatriot Dipa Karmakar finished fourth in artistic gymnastics. Although the Tripura girl failed to finish in top three she won the heart of millions of fans across the world. She was the only Indian gymnast to qualify for the Olympic.  Also read-(Australian Open 2017: Roger Federer, Serena Williams favourites to lift titles in Melbourne)

Mariyappan Thangavelu: A 22-year-old Paralympian from Tamil Nadu made this country proud winning the gold medal in 2016 Rio Paralympic in the high jump. His success came just after the Rio Olympic which took the nation by surprise.

PR Sreejesh: The Indian field hockey goalkeeper made us proud when he led India to Asian Champions Trophy hockey winning the silver medal. His inspiring saves as a custodian of the D-box won him the prestigious Padma Shri award.

Meanwhile, legendary discus thrower Vikas Gowda’s contribution to the Indian sports is also recognized with this award. He must be happy for receiving it from President Pranab Mukherjee.