AUS vs IND, 4th Test Sydney Highlights: It was a great day for India courtesy to the sheer brilliance of Cheteshwar Pujara. He kept his nerves after the early blow in the form of KL Rahul’s wicket and built his momentum throughout the match with different partnerships. Australia would have to bring their A-game on tomorrow, if they were to get any result in their favour.

12.27: India 4 for 303 (Pujara 130*, Vihari 39*, Agarwal 77).

12.23: That brings up 300 for India! For the first time in the four-test match sries in Australia, India has scored 300 on the first day.

12.18: Four by Vihari! A touch of Sehwag about that. No foot movement there, but just leans into it and bunts it through the covers.

12.01: The final session of the first test will go into extra time. Seven more overs are remaining in the day’s play.

11.58: FOUR! Another great shot from Hanuma Vihari. India has scored 280/4 in 82.2 overs.

11.27: CENTURY! Another superb display by Cheteshwar Pujara. He has smashed a century in 199 balls.

11.20: The final session has been a fine one for the Aussie bowlers. They bagged the wickets of Kohli and Rahane and halted India’s momentum. However, Pujara has kept his nerves to display another top performance. The hosts will be looking to capitalise on the inexperienced Vihari and Pant to keep India below 300.

11.14: WICKET! A Rahane is out from a Mitchell Starc bowl, another great catch by skipper Tim Paine.

10.48: A change of footwear for Pat Cummins, who is facing difficulties with his shoes. 25 overs to go!

10.46: FOUR! Gorgeous from Pujara! Down the track and clips this effortlessly through mid-wicket.
10.32: Third maiden in a row!
India’s final session has taken a slight blow after Kohli’s departure. 30 more overs to go…
Nathan Lyon bowls a maiden over.

10.05: Skipper departs!
Tim Paine takes a commendable catch. Not been the best of outings for Kohli, he heads back with 23 runs.

10.00: Final session time. Will Pujara get to another 100?

09.41: TEA BREAK! It is 177 after a good partnership of Cheteshwar Pujara (61*) and Virat Kohli (23*).

09.19: Virat Kohli hits the ball for yet another boundary – he is in the mood today. That was the 46.1 over, India are at 148/2.

8.56: Impressive! Good bowling by the Aussies in the last couple of overs. Now, it’s Nathan Lyon with just one run from the over.

8.52: Josh Hazlewood delivers yet another maiden over.

8.33: After 34.4 overs, India are 130/2.

8.30: Wicket! Mayank Agarwal’s wicket has been scalped by Nathan Lyon. India their lose openers. Skipper Virat Kohli has stepped to the crease now.

8.15: India completes 100 after 30.1 overs.

8.08: HALF-CENTURY! Mayank Agarwal knocks his second Test half-century. After 29.2 overs, India are at 92/1.

26 overs gone, India are now cruising at 75/1.

07.42: Mayank Agarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara are back at the crease to continue the innings. Pat Cummins will bowl the first over post-lunch.

7.05: It’s lunch-break on Day 1. Mayank Agarwal (42*) and Cheteshwar Pujara (16*) have put in a calm and collective display to stabilise proceedings after an early blow for India
in the form of KL Rahul’s wicket. Now India are at 69/1 in 24 overs. Josh Hazlewood (1/17) had scalped the only wicket so far.

06.41: Mayank Agarwal (37 not out) and Cheteshwar Pujara (13 not out) completes 50 runs for the second wicket. After 18.5 overs, India are 61/1.

06.32: Josh Hazlewood delivers a maiden over. India are 53/1 after 17 overs.

The 50 run mark has been completed. It was a close call for Cheteshwar Pujara but he’s safe as the Aussies lose a review.

6.05: Drink-break. Mayank Agarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara has been putting in a gritty display. India suffered a blow after opener KL Rahul (9) was out early but now, It’s stable.
5.52 : India reach 36/1 after 10 overs in Sydney.

5.36: FOUR! Mayank Agarwal – This one was a bit nearer to him the ball that he went fiddling after at the beginning of the over.
5.27: After five overs,
India were shaken early after KL Rahul’s departure but now there is a certain sense of calmness in the batsmen. 


The players are wearing a black arm band; Australians in memory of former batsman Bill Watson and India in respect of Sachin Tendulkar’s coach Ramakant Achrekar.
5.16: After three overs, India are 12/1. Virat Kohli and his men are looking to script history with the aim to seal the series. 
5.08: WICKET! It’s KL Rahul who departs –
 He looked a little sluggish with the bat this morning. Easy wicket Shaun Marsh at first slip! Cheteshwar Pujara comes on the crease now.

5.07: First over gone by Mitch Starc, six runs off it. In other new, it might interest you to know that Indian cricket team have maintained quite an immaculate record every time Kohli has won the toss – 21 matches, 18 won, 3 drawn.
5.00: And it begins! The anthems are done and now It’s time for game. Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul will open up for India.
04.35: India has won the toss and chosen to bat first at the Sydney Cricket Ground in the fourth test. Here are the teams:
Australia XI- Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Tim Paine (c,wk), Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

India XI- Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

04.25: Stay tuned for the toss, which will take place any moment now. Match starts at 5 am IST.

04.25: Quick Stats – Jasprit Bumrah needs two more wickets in the SCG Test to become the second fastest Indian bowler to 50 wickets after R Ashwin. In their last 25 Tests at the SCG, Australia have a 19-3 win-loss record. India’s only win at the venue came in 1977/78.

04.20 IST: Hello and Welcome to our live coverage of the fourth and final Test between Australia and India from the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney.

Australia: Tim Paine (c), Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Siddle, Marnus Labuschagne

India: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Brief Preview:  With a maiden Test series win in Australia within touching distance, Virat Kohli and Co. walk into 2019 with the aim of defying history. India’s loss in the second Test in Perth seems like an anomaly given the way they have won in Adelaide and Melbourne, the last one coming in an emphatic fashion, by 137 runs, and it only affirmed India’s aim to go for the series in Sydney. However, they have had their issues during the short turnaround time between the Tests as Ravichandran Ashwin is still in doubt for the fourth and final Test. Rohit Sharma is back in India to be with his wife and newborn daughter, and Ishant Sharma picked up a niggle to be left out of the final 13. Still, with the batting core of captain Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane intact and the bowling group led by Jasprit Bumrah, the Player of the Match in Melbourne, India remain a potent threat. With the pitch in Sydney expected to assist spin, India have named both Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav in their 13 and may go in with two specialist spinners, although Kohli hinted at using Hanuma Vihari as a spin-bowling option. If that happens, Umesh Yadav could come in as a like-for-like replacement for Ishant.