Live Updates

  • 5:31 PM IST

    SAU vs BEN Live Updates: A productive over to end the day, 9 runs came off the last over of day two. The home team Saurashtra on top at Stumps. It’s a brilliant turnaround from the Saurashtra batsmen as they were behind at the start of the day. The 142-run stand between Arpit Vasavada and Cheteshwar Pujara for the sixth wicket turned the tide in the hosts’ favour.

    Vasavada, who emerged as the hero of the semifinal for Saurashtra, notched up his second century in as many innings. Meanwhile, Pujara was solid at the other end to bring up his 60th first-class fifty. After going wicketless in the first two sessions, Shahbaz Ahmed finally took the prized scalp of the centurion. Post that, Mukesh Kumar trapped Pujara and Mankad in quick succession. With a score in the vicinity of 400, Saurashtra are certainly in the driving seat. Saurashtra 384/8 in 160 overs vs Bengal at STUMPS on Day 2
  • 4:20 PM IST

    WICKET! The final session is going Bengal’s way it seems. Mukesh Kumar strikes again and this time traps Prerak Mankad lbw for a four-ball duck. Mankad reviewed the on-field call but the TV umpire agreed with his counterpart having spotted no edge. Saurashtra 364/8 in 152.1 overs

  • 4:02 PM IST

    WICKET! Cheteshwar Pujara has been given out lbw! End of a marathon innings from the red-ball specialist. However, Pujara has gone for a review. Impact in-line and no bat involved, the on-field decision will stay. Pujara walks back after scoring 66 off 237 with five fours. Mukesh Kumar gets his first wicket. Bengal has removed both the set batsmen in quick time. Saurashtra 358/7 in 150.3 overs

  • 3:42 PM IST

    WICKET! Bengal pacers have finally managed to dislodge Arpit Vasavada. A flighted delivery and Vasavada jumps forward but is outfoxed with the wicketkeeper doing the rest. He scored 106 off 287 with 11 fours. Shahbaz Ahmed gets his second wicket of the innings. Saurashtra 348/6 in 144 overs

  • 3:13 PM IST

    Play resumes for the third and final session of Day 2.

  • 2:51 PM IST

    Tea-break on Day 2: So Cheteshwar Pujara has also made a fifty, reaching the milestone with a four. Saurashtra have taken control of this final now and Bengal bowlers continue to toil with absolutely no help from the surface. They have endured two wicketless sessions today. Saurashtra have reached 339/5 in 139 overs

  • 2:23 PM IST

    CENTURY for Arpit Vasavada! A second straight on for the Saurashtra batsman after hitting one in the semi-finals as well. Brings up the milestone in style with a four off Anustup Majumdar. Score 332/5 in 134 overs

  • 1:54 PM IST

    Over 128.1: Nearly a breakthrough for Bengal! Cheteshwar Paujara backing up with a straight drive from Arpit Vasavada crashing onto the stumps at the non-striker’s end. The bowler Mukesh Kumar appealed. The decision was referred but the TV umpire didn’t find a conclusive evidence of the ball being deflected off Mukesh’s hand.

  • 1:24 PM IST

    Live: 300 up for Saurashtra. Arpit Vasavada brings up the milestone with consecutive fours off spinner Shahbad Ahmed. Vasavada has moved to 85 off 212 while Cheteshwar Pujara is on 35 off 164. The partnership has also crossed three figures and is now worth 111 for the sixth wicket.

  • 12:54 PM IST

    Play has resumed after the lunch break. Bengal are desperate to break this partnership between Vasavada and Pujara which has now extended to 92 runs for the sixth wicket.

Ranji Trophy 2019-20 Live Score, Saurashtra vs Bengal, Day 2

Hello and welcome to our live blog from the Day 2 of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 final between Saurashtra and Bengal at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot starting Friday. Also Read - Determined Cheteshwar Pujara Hopes to Work on Fitness During Forced Break

Day 1 Review Also Read - Wasim Jaffer Could be Appointed Next Vidarbha Head Coach: Report

Half-centuries from Avi Barot and Vishvaraj Jadeja starred with the bat but late strikes from medium Akash Deep kept Saurashtra to 206 for 5 against Bengal on Day 1 of the Ranji Trophy final on Monday. With both half-centurions departing after their respective fifties and Cheteshwar Pujara walking off due to dehydration, Bengal were the team in control at the time stumps were drawn. Also Read - Chandrakant Pandit Appointed Madhya Pradesh Coach

Considering the increasingly deteriorating nature of the surface, Jaydev Unadkat had no hesitation in batting first and openers Harvik Desai and Barot responded with intent. They added 82 for the opening wicket although Bengal had only themselves to blame for the partnership to flourish. Desai was dropped at first slip in the 23rd over, followed by Ishan Porel slipping Barot’s catch at square leg not too long after.

After dominating the first session, where Saurashtra scored 77 without losing a wicket, Bengal came out positive after lunch and immediately struck with the wicket of Desai, who found substitute Abhishek Raman off left-arm spinner Shahbaz Ahmed. But with Barot going past his half-century, Saurashtra looked in no discomfort. He and Vishvaraj Jadeja took Saurashtra forward before Akash broke the threatening-looking stand with the wicket of Barot.

With Barot’s wicket, Saurashtra also lost a review. Jadeja and Arpit Vasavada forged a fifty-plus partnership to keep Saurashtra going, but Akash gave Bengal reasons to cheer again, cleaning up Jadeja. Sheldon Jackson, walking in ahead of Pujara started off positively with three quick boundaries but fell out LBW for a 15-ball 14 to Porel.

Pujara struck a boundary but his discomfort was visible, After struggling for 24 balls, an unwell walked off the ground of dehydration. Towards the final passage of play on the opening day, Akash was on the money for a third time, getting Chetan Sakariya to nick the ball to Wriddhiman Saha as Saurashtra lost their fifth wicket.