Premier League’s PFA awards ceremony took place on Sunday in London and the occasion was mostly dominated by title challengers Manchester City and Liverpool. While Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk won the PFA Player of the Year title, it was City’s Raheem Sterling who bagged the ‘Young Player of the Year’ award.Also Read - French Giants Monaco confirm signing of Japan Forward Takumi Minamino

18 months since Joining Liverpool from Southampton for a hefty 75 million pounds — highest transfer fee for a defender in club football history — Dutch international Van Dijk has become a key factor in the Jurgen Klopp-led side which is contending for both Premier League and Champions League this season. Also Read - Why Real Madrid Is A successful Club? Carlo Ancelotti Reveals The Secret After UCL Victory

Also Read - We Will Come Again...Jurgen Klopp Sets Sights On Redemption After UCL Defeat Against Real Madrid

Sterling joined Man City from Liverpool in the summer of 2015 for a fee of 60 million. The winger’s meteoric rise over the past couple of seasons has not only justified the fee amount but also aided the City side to a Premier League title last season. This season, the English international is relishing his career-best form and is one of the major reasons why the Guardiola-led side are in contention for the double (FA Cup and Premier League) for the first time in the club’s history.

Manchester City women’s team’s Georgia Stanway bagged the Young Player of the Year award while Arsenal women’s Vivianne Miedema won the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Here’s the full list of winners from the PFA awards 2019:
Player of the Year: Virgil van Dijk, Liverpool.
Young Player of the Year: Raheem Sterling, Manchester City.
Women’s Player of the Year: Vivianne Miedema, Arsenal.
Women’s Young Player of the Year: Georgia Stanway, Manchester City.
PFA Merit Award: Steph Houghton, Manchester City.