Meghalaya’s all-rounder Abhay Negi entered his name in the record books with a quickfire 50 off 14 balls in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match against Mizoram on Sunday. With Sunday’s belligerent knock, Negi joined KL Rahul to slam the fastest fifty in T20 cricket by an Indian.

Negi walked into bat with Meghalaya 149/4 and looking for a big finish. Negi did just that. His knock was laced with two fours and six sixes as he remained unbeaten on 50* off 15 balls to help Meghalaya register 207/4.

ALSO READ: Did Prithvi Shaw Imitate Virat Kohli’s Celebration

Rahul had registered the record in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match against Delhi Capitals at Mohali in 2018. Yuvraj Singh holds the world record for the fastest ever half-century by an Indian. He recorded a 12-ball fifty against England in the 2007 World T20 — an innings which was decorated with six sixes in an over off pacer Stuart Broad in Durban.

With the IPL auctions round the corner, Negi seems to have timed his knock to perfection. Meghalaya won the match by 25 runs. Taruwar Kohli’s valiant 90 off 59 went in vain for Mizoram.

Negi made his List A debut for Meghalaya in the 2018–19 Vijay Hazare Trophy on 20 September 2018. He was the joint-leading wicket-taker for Meghalaya in the 2018–19 Vijay Hazare Trophy, with fourteen dismissals in eight matches.

Mizoram (Playing XI): Taruwar Kohli, Lalhmangaiha, KB Pawan(w/c), Lalfakzuala Renthlei, Saidingliana Sailo, Reuben Lalhruaizela, G Lalbiakvela, Lalhruai Ralte, Lalnunkima Varte, Sumit Lamba, Henry Lalsangzuala

Meghalaya (Playing XI): Raj Biswa(c), Puneet Bisht(w), Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Sanjay Yadav, Abhay Negi, Amiangshu Sen, Aditya Singhania, Kilco Marak, Swarajeet Das, Bijon Dey, Chengkam Sangma