8-in-1 Also Read - IPL 2021 | MS Dhoni Thinks About Building Team For a Particular Season: Gautam Gambhir Points Out Difference Between CSK and RCB

Another season of Indian Premiere League is coming to an end and this season too was full of suspense, drama and excitement. After the roller coaster season of IPL 2015 with 59 matches played including league and knockout stage matches, we have reached the highly awaited finals, which has Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) fighting for the IPL 8 trophy. While there were some surprise performances, there were also some disappointments.  here is a look at the previous finalists of IPL. Also Read - IPL 2021: Why MS Dhoni-Led CSK Will Bid For Former Rajasthan Royals Captain Steve Smith in Upcoming IPL 14 Mini-Auction in February

IPL 2008 Season 1: Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings Also Read - MS Dhoni's New Look Ahead of IPL 14 is Winning Hearts | SEE PICS

Winners: Rajasthan Royals won by 3 wickets


The first season of IPL was the most exciting and full of twists and turns. The Rajasthan Royals came face to face with Chennai Super Kings and won the match and the title. Rajasthan won the match after chasing a score of 163 runs.

IPL 2009 Season 2: Deccan Chargers vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Winners: Deccan Chargers won by 6 runs


The second season came in as a surprise when Deccan Chargers bagged the title after facing Royal Challengers Bangalore. The team scored 143 runs and bowled to perfection.

IPL 2010 Season 3: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

Winners: Chennai Super Kings won by 22 runs


This season saw the Chennai Super Kings came back into the finals and won this time against a phenomenal Mumbai Indians. The won by a huge 22 run gap as CSK made 168 runs and stopped Mumbai at a mere 146.

IPL 2011 Season 4: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Winners: Chennai Super Kings won by 58 runs


After winning the championship once, they came back in form and went straight into the finals against Royal Challengers Bangalore. They went on to win the title second time in a row after chasing a huge score of 177.

IPL 2012 Season 5: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings

Winners: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets


Chennai had made a hat trick into the finals in the fifth season and it came face to face with SRK owned Kolkata Knight Riders. However it was a blow to CSK when KKR covered their target of 190 and went on to become the champions in the season.

IPL 2013 Season 6: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

Winners: Mumbai Indians won by 23 runs


The last season of IPL was the most exciting and satisfying for Mumbai Indians as they gracefully reached the finals and won the game against one of the strongest and most consistent teams in IPL, Chennai Super Kings. Mumbai Indians made a score of 148 and stopped CSK at 139 there by becoming the champions of the season.

IPL 2014 Season 7: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab

Winners: Kolkata Knight Riders


Kolkata Knight Riders lifted the trophy second time, becoming only first team after Chennai Super Kings to win title twice. KKR met Kings XI Punjab in the finals and in a match which went down the wire, the Gautam Gambhir-led side emerged victorious by three wickets. Batting first KXIP made 199/4 which was chased by KKR who made 200/7.