Mzansi Super League 2018: AB de Villiers not only announced his comeback to cricket in style but also became the 10th cricketer in the world to hit 300+ sixes in T20 cricket. Out of the previous nine players with 300 T20 sixes, four of them are from Windies, is also a testament to the big-hitters that come from Windies. Making a comeback to cricket after five months, AB de Villiers smashed a breathtaking 59 off 30 balls. But his blitzkrieg went in vain as the Tshwane Spartans lost to Cape Town Blitz by 49 runs in the Mzansi Super League 2018 opener. Also Read - Former Australia Captain Michael Clarke Heaps Big Praise on Sachin Tendulkar, Calls India Legend 'The Best Batsman I Ever Saw'

He hit the ball from the middle off the bat as he had never been away from the game. He hit five monstrous sixes in his 30-ball stay.  He also became the first South African to 300 T20 sixes, he got there in 233 innings. Also Read - David Warner Copies Ravindra Jadeja's Sword-Celebration in Throwback Video, Asks Fans For Verdict | WATCH

Earlier, Kyle Verreynne and Mohammad Nawaz got the Cape Town Blitz of to a great start putting on a 100-run stand of 58 balls. George Linde’s 4-ball 13 at the end helped the Blitz finish with 180/4 on the board, which did not look like a winning total considering De Villiers was in the opposition. Also Read - Shoaib Akhtar Proposes India vs Pakistan Series to Raise Funds For Fight Against COVID-19 Pandemic

Chasing 181, Dean Elgar got out after scoring 32 off 26 balls. The skipper and the big player AB de Villiers was next to follow him to the pavilion after he scored 59 off 30 balls. His innings studded five monstrous sixes which were a treat to watch. None of the batsmen except Rille Rossouw (15 runs) at least got to the double figures and ultimately, the Cape Town Blitz won the match by a massive 49 runs.

Recently, he has been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2019.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Retained players: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Marcus Stoinis (Traded), Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Released players: Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh (Traded), Quinton de Kock.