Mzansi Super League 2018, Cape Town Blitz vs Tshwane Spartans: AB de Villiers is back and seems to be justifying his Mr 360 tag to the tee as he flaunted off his full repertoire in the MSL 2018 opener. A switch hit in Mzansi Super League 2018 opener against Cape Town Blitz is a proof of that. He was away from the game but it seems he has always been playing it, the way he connected it and the power he generated on the shot is simply surreal. Also Read - Rajasthan Royals Co-Owner Expects 'Shortened' IPL Season This Year

WATCH: Also Read - Coronavirus Pandemic: No Pay Cut For South African Cricketers For 2020-21 Season Despite Growing Concerns

AB de Villiers’ Tshwane Spartans did not get off to the start they were after in the tournament opener of the Mzansi Super League 2018 as they lost to Cape Town Blitz by 49 runs even as AB de Villiers scored a breathtaking 30-ball 59. He also hit five towering sixes during his blitz to become the first cricketer to hit 300 T20 sixes.

Earlier, Kyle Verreynne and Mohammad Nawaz got the Cape Town Blitz of to a great start putting on a 100-run stand of 58 balls. George Linde’s 4-ball 13 at the end helped the Blitz finish with 180/4 on the board, which did not look like a winning total considering De Villiers was in the opposition.

Chasing 181, Dean Elgar got out after scoring 32 off 26 balls. The skipper and the big player AB de Villiers was next to follow him to the pavilion after he scored 59 off 30 balls. His innings studded five monstrous sixes which were a treat to watch. None of the batsmen except Rille Rossouw (15 runs) at least got to the double figures and ultimately, the Cape Town Blitz won the match by a massive 49 runs.

Recently, he has been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2019.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Retained players: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Marcus Stoinis (Traded), Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Released players: Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh (Traded), Quinton de Kock.