Mzansi Super League 2018: AB de Villiers’ Tshwane Spartans may have lost the tournament opener by 49 runs against Cape Town Blitz but it was Mr 360 who made the news for various reasons. He smashed five sixes in his 30-ball 59 blitz apart from becoming the first South African to hit 300+ sixes in T20 cricket. But what made bigger news was the sight of the retired South African cricketer using a walkie-talkie during the live match to speak to the coach of the team. Mzansi Super League 2018 has introduced the use of walkie-talkies for taking tips from the coach. Many social media users wondered about this innovative measure by the tournament organisers, with many deeming the use of an earpiece as a more effective option. Also Read - Coronavirus Pandemic: No Pay Cut For South African Cricketers For 2020-21 Season Despite Growing Concerns

Here is how social media reacted to his on-field action. Also Read - Tim Paine on India Series: Presence of Steve Smith And David Warner Will Make Australia Tough to Beat

Earlier, Kyle Verreynne and Mohammad Nawaz got the Cape Town Blitz off to a great start putting on a 100-run stand off 58 balls. George Linde’s 4-ball 13 at the end helped the Blitz finish with 180/4 on the board, which did not look like a winning total considering De Villiers was in the opposition.

Chasing 181, Dean Elgar got out after scoring 32 off 26 balls. The skipper and the big player AB de Villiers was next to follow him to the pavilion after he scored 59 off 30 balls. His innings studded five monstrous sixes which were a treat to watch. None of the batsmen except Rille Rossouw (15 runs) at least got to the double figures and ultimately, the Cape Town Blitz won the match by a massive 49 runs.

Recently, he has been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2019.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Retained players: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Marcus Stoinis (Traded), Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Released players: Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh (Traded), Quinton de Kock.