Dubai: The International Cricket Council on Thursday announced the ODI team of the year 2021 and it was dominated by Asian stars – sans Indians. While Pakistan’s Babar Azam was made the captain of the side for his sensational year with the bat, the surprise was – no Indians featured in the XI. The ODI team of the year is also a testament to how India has fared in 2021.Also Read - India's Predicted T20I Squad For South Africa Series: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah Likely to be Rested; Shikhar Dhawan May Lead

Bangladesh had the most cricketers in the XI just goes to show the year they have had. Shakib-al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Mustafizur Rahim made the side. Not just the cricketers from Bangladesh, even Sri Lankans had a year to remember and that sees two of their cricketers make it to the coveted XI. Dushmantha Chameera and Wanindu Hasaranga are part of the XI. Also Read - IPL 2022, Playoffs & Qualifier: All You Need To Know About Venue, Date & Who Plays Whom

Ireland’s Paul Stirling – who emerged as the highest run-getter of the year with 705 runs in 14 matches – and South Africa’s Janneman Malan (509 runs in eight matches) was picked to open the batting. Babar with 405 runs of six matches would slot in at No 3 while his teammate Fakhar Zaman takes the No 4 spot. Also Read - Highlights | IPL 2022, MI vs DC, Match 69: Mumbai Indians Beat Delhi Capitals By 5 Wickets, RCB Qualify For Playoffs

ICC ODI Team of The Year: Paul Stirling, Janneman Malan, Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Shakib-al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mustafizur Rahim, Simi Singh, Dushmantha Chameera

Note: A few things that need to take into account is the fact that 2021 was a year where most teams were focused on the T20 World Cup and hence ODI cricket took a backseat.