Mumbai: With the New Zealand home series done and dusted, the focus shifts to the upcoming tour of South Africa. Reports suggest that the Indian board is set to announce the team today. While speculations are rife about who makes it and who misses out, ex-India cricketer Aakash Chopra has predicted the Indian squad for the Test matches against South Africa.Also Read - Rohit Sharma Shouldn't be the Obvious Choice to Replace Virat Kohli as Test Captain Because of Fitness Issues Feels Sunil Gavaskar

While the 15-member squad is on expected lines, there are three omissions that could surprise fans. Chopra has not picked veteran pacer Ishant Sharma, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane and opener Shubman Gill. Also Read - KL Rahul Conducts First Team Meeting at Boland Park Ahead of ODI Series vs South Africa; Pics go VIRAL

“At No. 5, I have picked Shreyas Iyer. Who can make him sit out after what he did on his debut? If he is at five, that means Ajinkya Rahane is not in my XI. We want to maintain the continuity and want to go with a player who has scored runs,” Chopra said. Also Read - Jasprit Bumrah Press Conference Ahead of ODIs vs South Africa: Virat Kohli's Role to India's Playing XI; Things That Could be Revealed

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav as the four pacers. He left out Umesh from the playing XI.

He added: “There is Bumrah and Shami, there is no discussion and debate in that. Everyone will keep them in the team. After that, I have kept Siraj at No. 11. He has leapfrogged everyone, he has become the third pacer.”

Aakash Chopra’s Indian Test squad for South Africa tour: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav

He reckoned Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur and Umesh Yadav will be the four players who would not feature in the XI.