Noted journalist Rajat Sharma was elected as the new President of Delhi & District Cricket Association after polling 54.40 per cent of the total votes cast. He received a total of 1,521 votes. The Padma Bhushan awardee is also the Chairman and Chief Editor of a renowned Hindi channel. Meanwhile, Rakesh Kumar Bansal was elected as the vice-president with 48.87 per cent votes in his favour. The voting took place from June 27 and June 30.

Also, Vinod Tihara was elected as the new secretary and Om Prakash Sharma as the new treasurer along with Rajan Manchanda as the Joint Secretary.

Soon, after the confirmation came Rajat Sharma took to Twitter.

His post read, “I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA”.

Earlier, Rajat Sharma had nominated himself for the portfolio on May 16.

The four-day long elections saw a turnaround of over 72 per cent. A total of 2,791 DDCA members turned up to cast their votes out of the 3,828 eligible voters.