Pakistan vs New Zealand 3rd Test: Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah broke the 82-year-old record to become the fastest to claim 200 Test wickets! During the third and final Test against New Zealand at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Yasir achieved the landmark in his 33rd outing for Pakistan in the longer format. The previous record-holder was Australia’s – Clarrie Grimmett, who reached 200 wickets in 36 Test.Also Read - Ind vs WI: Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur And Ruturaj Gaikwad; Players Who May Not Make India Squad For Windies Series

The 32-year old becomes the seventh Pakistan bowler to achieve the incredible feat in Test cricket, overall he becomes the 9th leg-spinner in the world (all countries). He also pipped the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin (37 Tests), Dennis Lillee (38 Tests), Waqar Younis (38 Tests) to top the coveted list. Also Read - Ravichandran Ashwin: Fold And Leave Table When Other Option Is To Bet

Also Read - No Virat Kohli in ICC Men's Test Team of the Year As Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Ravichandran Ashwin Make the Cut

Fastest to 200 Test wickets (in matches):

36 Clarrie Grimmett
37 R Ashwin
38 Dennis Lillee, Waqar Younis
39 Dale Steyn

During the day four in the first session, Yasir trapped Kiwi nightwatchman William Somerville (4 runs) in front of the wicket and reached the landmark. He became the quickest to claim that feat by a distance. Yasir kissed the turf in delight. It was a slider on the pads, Somerville went for a whip to the leg-side. He gets his bat down a touch late, misses the whip and it raps him on the pads. Somerville had a chat about taking the review but decides against it.

Earlier in the series, Yasir became the first ever Pakistan cricketer to bag 10 wickets in a day’s play in Test cricket. In the second Test between versus New Zealand, Shah’s mesmerising spin and guile hook, line and sinker left the Kiwi batsmen bamboozled on day three in Dubai. From 50-0 to 90 all out, New Zealand batting unit suffered one of the sensational collapses in the history of cricket’s most traditional format. The Swabi-born spinner became the first player after India’s Anil Kumble (since 1999) to claim all 10 wickets in a single day of a Test match.