India football captain Sunil Chhetri received the Padma Shri award from President Ramnath Kovind today for his outstanding contribution to Indian football. Sunil Chhetri was conferred with the award in Rashtrapati Bhavan. Chhetri led the Blue Tigers successfully in 2018 to clinch the Inter-Continental Cup and then lead the side in the AFC Asian Cup 2019 in 2019. He has been an inspiring and instrumental leader. Chhetri is also credited for the recent rise in popularity of Indian football.Also Read - AIFF Suspends Staff Member After India U-17 Women's Football Team Alleges Misconduct Charges

Also Read - Viral Video: This Super Cute Clip of Dogs Playing Catch With Balloon Will Make Your Day Brighter | Watch

Also Read - Erik Ten Hag's Reign Officially Begins At Manchester United

Earlier, Chhetri also went past Argentinian star Lionel Messi to become the highest active international goal-scorer with a whopping 67 goals. In the past, Chhetri has won 3 Nehru Cups (2007, 2009, 2012), an AFC Challenge Cup (2012), and 2 SAFF Championships (2011, 2016) in his spectacular career.

Former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir too received the coveted award during the ceremony from the honourable President of India.

Gambhir received the fourth highest civilian award for his contribution to cricket. His pivotal knocks in India’s World T20 win in 2007 and the 2011 World Cup title triumph.

Earlier, in a press note from the Ministry of Home Affairs, a list of the 112 persons honoured with the Padma Awards was released.

Four persons have been awarded the Padma Vibhushan, whereas 14 have been bestowed with Padma Bhushan and the rest 94 will receive the Padma Shri.

The first set or lot of Padma awards was given on 11th of March in which honorable President Mr. Kovind had presented one Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan and forty-six Padma Shri Awards.