It is the penultimate match of Indian Premier League 2016, and for one of the team it is going to be the last match of the season. Gujarat Lions and Sunrisers Hyderabad take on each other in the Qualifier 2 of IPL 2016 and the winner will advance to finals to take on Royal Challengers Bangalore. Also Catch- GL vs SRH, IPL 2016, Live Score

Suresh Raina-led Lions finished on top of the points table and then were outplayed by RCB in the first qualifier. The team, playing in their first season, now have to defeat Sunrisers to book a place in the finals. 

However, Sunrisers have been one of the consistent teams in the tournament and going by their performance in the Eliminator against Kolkata Knight Riders, the team is playing as a confident unit. Also Check- IPL 2016 Complete Coverage

The Previous Meetings

What gives Sunrisers an edge over Lions is simply because of the fact that the Gujarat-based franchise lost both its league matches against the David Warner-led side. On both the occasions, Lions were restricted to a paltry score and failed to defend it.

The Stars

Both the captains have led from the front and have been solid performers for the team in batting department. Dwayne Smith has been wonderful for Lions with his allround capabilities and Dhawal Kulkarni’s splendid effort against RCB needs to be mentioned here.


For Sunrisers, Mustafizur Rahman and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the Purple Cap holder, continue to impress. Sunrisers bowling will once again test the Lions’ batting.

The Past

While Gujarat Lions are in their inaugural season, Sunrisers have never made it to finals of the IPL and in fact are playing the Qualifier for the first time. The best SRH have gone far was in 2013 season; when they lost the Eliminator. The Hyderabad-based franchise will be very much keen to do better this time.

Likely Playing XIs-

GL- Aaron Finch, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Smith, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Eklavya Dwivedi, Praveen Kumar, Shadab Jakati/Pravin Tambe, Dhawal Kulkarni.

SRH- Shikhar Dhawan, David Warner, Naman Ojha, Yuvraj Singh, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Ben Cutting, Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Barinder Sran, Mustafizur Rahman.