The marquee clash between reigning Olympic champion Carolina Marin and P V Sindhu will mark the beginning of Premier Badminton League on December 22. The fourth season of PBL will begin its journey from Mumbai. Left-hander Marin, who will turn out for new team Pune 7 Aces, will open the campaign against her old team Hyderabad Hunters, which boasts of Sindhu now.Also Read - Deepika Pdukone Is 'Burning Calories' With PV Sindhu, Ranveer Singh Is Having 'Major FOMO Attack'

Marin had helped Hyderabad hunt down the title last year. The badminton extravaganza would witness 30 ties being played including seven double-headers this season. Each city will be hosting one double-header though Pune and Ahmedabad will see two double-headers. Also Read - PV Sindhu Spends 'Fun Time' with Ranveer Singh And Deepika Padukone; Photo Goes Viral

Syed Modi International champion Sameer Verma led Mumbai Rockets will open their campaign from Mumbai on December 23. The Pune leg will witness yet another marque clash between PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal when Hyderabad Hunters meet North Eastern Warriors on the New Year’s Day. Also Read - Abhinav Bindra Feels Three-Year Olympic Cycle Will be Tricky For Athletes Before 2024 Paris Games

This contest would be as keen for both the top-ranked Indians as well as their followers.

Former world champion Viktor Axelsen led Ahmedabad Smash Masters will start their home campaign against Awadh Warriors and later play against the defending champion, Hyderabad Hunters.

The 23-day event will witness nine teams with Delhi Dashers, Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Mumbai Rockets, Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashes, North Eastern Warriors and Pune 7 Aces slugging it out for a prize purse of Rs 6 crore.

(With PTI Inputs)