Amidst discussions over the selection of the Indian Cricket Team’s World Cup squad as announced by the BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket in India) on Monday, Bollywood veteran Rishi Kapoor has made an uncanny observation – that all the members of the Men in Blue side sport beards. The 66-year-old actor is currently undergoing treatment in the United States for an undisclosed ailment but has been active on social media.

Taking to his official handle, Rishi shared a picture of the 15-member squad featuring Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja among others and questioned: Don’t take this picture as a reference point but why do most of our cricket players sport full facial hair(beards)? All Samson’s?(remember he had his strength in his hair) Surely they look smart and dashing without it. Just an observation!”

While some fans seemed to agree with the legitimacy of the observation, others questioned the point of it. Here are some reactions:

The ICC World Cup 2019 will be hosted by England and Wales from May 30th onwards. The batsmen feature captain Virat Kohli, who currently tops the ICC batting rankings followed by second-ranked Rohit Sharma and his co-opener Shikhar Dhawan who is also among the top 15.

As expected, former Indian skipper MS Dhoni is a part of the England-bound squad. With the number four spot sparking most debates on its contention, it will be Vijay Shankar or KL Rahul who will be taking the place. On number five will be Kedar Jhadav. Despite having impressed in his recent international outings, 21-year-old Rishabh Pant has been dropped in favour of the experienced Dinesh Karthik.

Among others, all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja have been included. Pacers include the likes of ace Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. While spinners are Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav.

India’s World Cup Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (WK), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami.