India stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma wished Harmapreet Kaur-led Team India ahead of their ICC Women’s Cricket World T20. The Indian eves lock horns with New Zealand in the tournament opener. Rohit took to Twitter and wished the Women in Blue all the best and also said that he was confident that they will bring glory to the nation.

The eves have never won the tournament in their last five attempts, but this time the young girls look to have a balanced look to the side and a better chance of winning. India were runners-up in the 50-overs Women’s World Cup in 2017 and since then have played some good cricket.

Earlier, Indian opener Smriti Mandhana has a special message for fans. The southpaw has urged fans to cheer and support for them as they have always done as they get ready for the big tournament. She also expected that the fans will watch all the matches and hoped to clinch the crown, eventually.

The eves will lock horns against arch-rivals Pakistan on November 11, which is expected to be a mouthwatering contest. A lot will be expected from the experienced Mithali Raj and youngsters like Jemimah Rodriguez and Pooja Vastrakar are also in the squad that has traveled to the Caribbean.

India squad Women:

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Anuja Patil, Mithali Raj, Arundathi Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav.

New Zealand Women:

Suzie Bates, Anna Peterson, Sophie Devine, Amy Satterthwaite (C), Katey Martin (wk), Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Jess Watkin, Hayley Jensen, Amelia Kerr, KE Ebrahim, Holly Huddleston, Leigh Kasperek, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu, Maddy Green