After his controversial dismissal during India’s sixth game in the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 versus West Indies, vice-captain Rohit Sharma has expressed his displeasure over the ordinary umpiring decision through a post on his official Twitter handle. Rohit shared a picture suggesting that he was not out in the match against West Indies in Manchester on Thursday. Also Read - PAK vs SA 2021: South Africa Not Easy to Beat But Pakistan Banking on Home Advantage, Says Coach Misbah-ul-Haq
Rohit posted a picture on Twitter which sought to convey that the third umpire wrongly gave him out. The 32-year-old defended himself publicly by taking a stand and has posted two images taken from different angles which clearly reveal a small but considerable gap between the bat and the ball, meaning he was actually not out. Here’s Rohit’s Tweet: Also Read - Brisbane Test: Rohit Sharma Has 'No Regrets' On His Dismissal vs Nathan Lyon in Fourth Test at The Gabba, Says I Will Keep Playing Such Shots
The 30-year-old was sent back to the pavilion in the sixth over of India’s innings. The right-hander looked to have missed the ball but wicket-keeper Shai Hope appealed for caught-behind. The on-field umpire adjudged him not out but West Indies decided to review it.
The ball pitched on a good length and jagged back sharply. Rohit left a gap between bat and pad and the ball sneaked through that.
There was confusion whether the ball had hit the pad or the bat. The snick-o-meter indicated there was a clear spike and the third umpire decided to overturn the decision and rule him out.
Rohit contributed with a knock of 18 runs, however half-centuries from Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni guided India to a competitive total of 268/7 in 50 overs. Later, Mohammed Shami picked up a four-wicket haul as India thumped Windies by 125 runs.