New Delhi: Rajasthan Royals, who are making their return to Indian Premier League after two years, spent vivaciously in IPL 2018 auction. The Jaipur based franchise retained Australia’s Steve Smith, who captained Rising Pune Supergiants in the last edition of the tournament. RR were smartly making their bids and brought back some of their former players to the squad. The franchise opened their account in the auction by buying England’s Ben Stokes for whopping Rs 12.5 crores. The enormous price tag saw the all-rounder becoming the costliest player in this season of the cash-rich league.

RCB Team Squad For IPL 2018: Final List of Royal Challengers Bangalore Players After Auction

RCB Team Squad For IPL 2018: Final List of Royal Challengers Bangalore Players After Auction

Also Read - Wasim Akram Calls IPL Bigger Tournament Than PSL, Points Major Differences Between The Two T20 Leagues

Stokes, an explosive batsman, decent bowler and an agile fielder, was also the talk of the town during the last IPL season for being purchased at whopping Rs 14.5 crores by Rising Pune Supergiants thus making him the most expensive overseas player in IPL history. However, the 26-year old justified his price tag by hitting 316 runs at a strike rate of 142.99 and grabbing 12 wickets. Stokes even won the ‘Most Valuable Player’ of IPL 2017 award. Also Read - IPL 2020 Bio-Bubble: Franchises Fret Over WAGS, Local Drivers, Security, Hospitality

RR once again broke the bank by buying Jaydev Unadkat for Rs 11.5 crore. The fast bowler became the costliest Indian in the auction and he is one of the most skilled Indian fast bowlers when it comes to Twenty20 cricket. The 26-year old performed brilliantly in the last edition of the tournament and went onto pick 24 wickets in 12 games for Rising Pune Supergiants. He even finished as the second-highest wicket taker. The team also bought two exciting overseas cricketers, the young and energetic West Indies all-rounder Jofra Archer and the promising Australian cricketer D’Arcy Short. Also Read - IPL 13: Kane Williamson Looks forward to Playing in IPL in UAE, Awaits More Details Before Making Final Decision

RR Squad: Steve Smith (retained 12.5 crore), Ben Stokes (12.5 c), Ajinkya Rahane (4 c), Stuart Binny (50 Lakh), Sanju Samson (8 c), Jos Buttler (4.4 c), Rahul Tripathi (3.4 c), D’Arcy Short (4 c), Jofra Archer (7.2 c), K Gowtham (6.2 crore), Dhawal Kulkarni (75 lakh, RTM), Jaydev Unadkat (11.5 crore), Ankit Sharma (20 lakh), Anureet Singh (30 lakh), Zahir Khan Pakteen (60 lakh), Shreyas Gopal (20 lakh), MS Midhun (20 lakh), Prashant Chopra (20 lakh), Ben Laughlin (50 lakh), Mahipal Lomror (20 lakh), Aryaman Birla (30 lakh), Jatin Saxena (20 lakh), Dushmantha Chameera (50 lakh)