Kerala batsman Sanju Samson, along with 12 other players, has been punished by Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) for dissent against captain Sachin Baby. As per a report by ESPNcricinfo, five of the players—Raiphi Gomez, Sandeep Warrier, Rohan Prem, KM Asif and Mohammed Azharuddeen—have been suspended for three matches, while the other eight—Abhishek Mohan, KC Akshay, Fabid Ahmed, MD Nidheesh, Salman Nizar, Sijomon Joseph, VA Jagadeesh and Samson–have been fined the equivalent of BCCI match fees for three one-day games.

According to the report, these 13 players had, in a letter to the KCA during a recent visit by a Kerala side to Sri Lanka in June, stated that they were unhappy with Baby’s leadership. But the KCA took objection to the fact that the players did not take up the issue with Baby or with the tour manager and directly approached the association.

The KCA conducted an enquiry and came to the conclusion that “the players were involved in endangering the harmony, stability and interest of the association and also engaged in the signature campaign against the captain. There was a deliberate intention to defame the captain as well as KCA.”

The players, who have been fined, have been given the deadline of September 15, by which they submit the fine, along with the proof of doing so. The fees collected by all the players will go to the Chief Minister’s Distress Relief Fund.

The five who have been suspended will miss Kerala’s first three matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 50-overs competition.

ESPNcricinfo further stated that in a separate sanction, the KCA issued show-cause notices to Samson, Akshay, Nizar and Azharuddeen for “unauthorised absence” from the team hotel during the Capt K Thimmappiah Memorial tournament conducted by the association during July-August.