Former Indian hockey captain Sardar Singh and Paralympian javelin- thrower Devendra Jhajharia were conferred the Khel Ratnas by the President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday. The awards were presented on the occasion of National Sports Day, which is also the birth anniversary of hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand. Also Read - IPL Women's T20 Challenge: Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur Named as Captains; BCCI Announces Squads And Full Schedule For Women's T20 Tournament

Indian women’s cricket team member Harmanpreet Kaur and 16 others sport persons received the Arjuna Awards.

Other prominent Arjuna awardees included the likes boxer Laishram Devendro Singh, footballer Oinam Bembem Devi and golfer SSP Chawrasia besides 12 others.


1. Devendra Jhajaria (para-athlete)
2. Sardar Singh (hockey)

1. Jyothi Surekha Vennam (archery)
2. Khushbir Kaur (athletics)
3. Rajiv Arokia (athletics)
4. Prashanthi Singh (basketball)
5. Laishram Devendro Singh (boxing)
6. Cheteshwar Pujara (cricket)
7. Harmanpreet Kaur (cricket)
8. Oinam Bembem Devi (football)
9. SSP Chawrasia (golf)
10. SV Sunil (hockey)
11. Jasvir Singh (kabaddi)
12. Prakash Nanjappa (shooting)
13. Anthony Amalraj (table tennis)
14. Saketh Myneni (tennis)
15. Satyawart Kadian (wrestling)
16. Mariyappan (para-athlete)
17. Varun Singh Bhati (para-athlete)

1. Late Dr. R Gandhi (athletics)
2. Heera Nand Kataria (kabaddi)
3. GSSV Prasad (badminton)
4. Brij Bhushan Mohanty (boxing – Lifetime)
5. PA Raphel (hockey – Lifetime)
6. Sanjoy Chakraverthy (shooting – Lifetime)
7. Roshan Lal (wrestling – Lifetime)

1. Bhupender Singh (Athletics)
2. Syed Shahid Hakim (Football)
3. Sumarai Tete (Hockey)

Seven coaches across different sports were conferred the Dronacharya Awards. Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh while Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will received statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.