Former Australian legend Shane Warne picked his Australian squad for the upcoming World Cup. Warne picked suspended cricketers Steve Smith and David Warner in his squad. Australia has not been playing cricket of high quality after the suspension of the trio which includes Cameron Bancroft as the third cricketer. The trio was suspended after they were caught in a ball-tampering scandal early in 2018 in South Africa. Also Read - David Warner After SRH Lose to KKR: We Failed to Execute Our Plans

Shane Warne wrote in his column for the Herald Sun, “I really do believe Australia can win the World Cup. I think it’s a fantastic one-day side. The talent is there, and if they can gel quickly, I think they’ll play really well.” Warne seemed pretty confident of the returning pair of Warner and Smith and went as far as suggesting, “Warner could be the player of the World Cup. They will want to make a statement, they will want to make amends, but also to prove to everyone just how good they are, they’ll be so driven.” Warne has picked his starting XI and he feels Warner should open with D’Arcy Short. Also Read - IPL 2021: Sanju Samson, Rahul Tewatia Are Capable of Being Outstanding Performers at International Stage, Says Kumar Sangakkara

“I’d really like to find a spot in the team for Ashton Turner, but he’s a very handy reserve. He comes in if Smith’s elbow doesn’t recover. Smith has to be able to field too. If he can’t throw, he doesn’t go. I’m also happy to include Peter Handscomb to keep his spot in the squad. I like what he’s done in the team recently,” he concluded. Also Read - SRH vs KKR Dream11 Team Prediction VIVO IPL 2021: Captain, Vice-captain, Fantasy Playing Tips, Probable XIs For Today's Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders T20 Match 3 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai 7.30 PM IST April 11 Sunday

Warne’s Australia World Cup XI: David Warner, D’Arcy Short, Aaron Finch (c), Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson

Extras (one to miss out in the 15-man squad): Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa, Peter Handscomb, Josh Phillipe, Riley Meredith.