ICC World Cup 2019: India opener Shikhar Dhawan got the Men in Blue off to a great start after Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat against Australia at the Kennington Oval. Dhawan took his time early on as Starc and Cummins were getting the ball to do some talking with their varying lengths. Once he got his eye in, he started playing his shots as he took a liking to Cummins hitting him for three boundaries in one over. Dhawan’s fifty was laced with seven boundaries as he reached the figure in 53 balls. Rohit too hit a fifty as he reached the milestone in 62 balls. He took his time and got himself set for a big score. Rohit also became the fastest to 2000 ODI runs versus Australia. With the record, he joins an elite list of players featuring Sachin Tendulkar, Vivian Richards. Dhawan and Rohit have also registered the most number of 100-run-stands in ICC CWC and Champions Trophy included, surpassing Gilchrist-Hayden’s record of five hundred.Also Read - Aishwarya Rai Bachchan at Cannes 2022 is Literally a Walking Phoolon Ka Guldasta in Her Giant Black Dress - See Red Carpet Pics

Twitter praised the southpaw after he reached his 28th ODI fifty: Also Read - Watch Gautam Gambhir's Animated & Pumped Up Celebration After LSG Win Over KKR | Video

Also Read - Hina Khan at Cannes 2022: Sea, Sunshine And Sex Appeal - Ladies And Gentlemen, Her!

At the time of filing the copy, India was on the driver’s seat at 133/1 in 24 overs.

India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat against Australia in a group stage game of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at the Kennington Oval, here on Sunday.

Both the teams remain unchanged since their previous respective matches.

Playing XI:

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (Captain), Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa