Shahbaz Nadeem has registered his name in the books of history, by the virtue of his splendid display for his team Jharkhand against Rajasthan, smashing them with figures of 10-4-10-8 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy match at Murugappa Ground, Chennai.

The record, which was previously held by Rahul Sanghvi, who had taken 8 for 15 for Delhi against Himachal Pradesh at Una, back in 1997-98 was bettered by the Jharkhand ace. Nadeem took the first eight Rajasthan wickets to fall before Anukul Roy dismissed Rahul Chahar to end the sequence.

following are the best figures in List A cricket:

Eight-wicket hauls in List A cricket
8/10Shahbaz NadeemJharkhandRajasthanChennai (Murugappa)2018-19
8/15Rahul SanghviDelhiHimachal PradeshUna1997-98
8/19Chaminda VaasSri LankaZimbabweColombo (SSC)2001-02
8/20Tharaka KottehewaNondescriptsRagamaColombo (Moors)2007-08
8/21Michael HoldingDerbyshireSussexHove1988
8/26Keith BoyceEssexLancashireOld Trafford1971
8/30Romesh ErangaBurgherSri Lanka ArmyColombo (Colts)2007-08
8/31Derek UnderwoodKentScotlandEdinburgh1987
8/38Brandon MavutaRising StarsManicalandHarare (Takashinga)2017-18
8/40Yeasin ArafatGazi GroupAbahani LimitedFatullah2017-18
8/43Shaun TaitSouth AustraliaTasmaniaAdelaide2003-04
8/52Kevin StouteWest Indies ALancashireOld Trafford2010
8/66Simon FrancisSomersetDerbyshireDerby2004

Keith Boyce (8 for 26) was the first to take an eight-wicket haul, back in 1971, in the early days of limited-overs cricket. Derek Underwood (8 for 31) was the second, in 1987, and Boyce’s record was broken the next year, by Michael Holding (8 for 21). Sanghvi went past Holding over twenty years ago.

Among the names above, Chaminda Vaas is the only one to take eight wickets in an ODI.