Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 Finals: Aditya Tare’s 71 bailed Mumbai out of a precarious situation at 40/4 to win by four wickets. Earlier in the day, Shreyas Iyer won the toss and put Delhi into bat first. The wicket seemed a little double-paced and that helped the Mumbai bowlers remove the dangerous Gautam Gambhir (1) and Unmukt Chand (13) early. Himmat Singh (41) and Dhruv Shorey (31) helped Delhi recover and set a target of 178 to win. For Mumbai, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shivam Dubey’s 3 wickets apiece made them the pick of the bowlers. Also Read - Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare Star as Mumbai Beat Uttar Pradesh by 6 Wickets to Win Vijay Hazare Trophy Title

Mumbai started the chase and Prithvi Shaw smashed the first two balls for boundaries before falling prey to Navdeep Saini for eight. Saini went on to pick two more wickets to reduce Mumbai to 40/4. That is when things looked difficult for Mumbai, but Siddesh Lad joined Aditya Tare to stitch a 105-run partnership to help them get their chase on track. It was Manan Sharma who finally got the wicket of Tare to bring an end to the partnership. Also Read - Prithvi Shaw Becomes First Player to Score 800 Runs in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Lad finally departed for 48 when there were just two runs away from victory. He attempted to go for the glory shot and in the process lost his wicket. Mumbai won the match convincingly at the end with 90 balls still to spare.

Earlier, stars like Ajinkya Rahane (10) and Shreyas Iyer (7) failed and that is what got the Mumbai camp to panic. But they held their nerves to clinch an emphatic win. Aditya Tare bagged the Man of the Finals on the back of an emphatic 71 off 83 balls.