Veteran domestic fast bowler Vinay Kumar created history on Saturday after his three for 24 for Puducherry in Mizoram’s second innings at Kolkata saw him become the highest wicket-taker among fast bowlers in Ranji Trophy history.Also Read - Heavy Rains Lash Coastal Districts Of Karnataka; Orange Alert Till Friday

With his three-wicket haul, Vinay has now 412 wickets, going past Pankaj Singh (409 wickets). Former Haryana left-arm spinner Rajinder Goel leads the tally with 637 wickets. Also Read - Karnataka Govt School Teacher Found Sending Lewd Messages, Porn to Students' Mothers; Suspended

At the end of the match, Vinay, who represents Puducherry, was given a guard of honour by his team-mates after his side won by an innings and 272 runs. Also Read - Eoin Morgan: World Cup-Winning English Captain Announces Retirement From International Cricket

The 34-year-old started his career with the Karnataka team in 2004, and represented the State with distinction for 15 years.

Vinay has recorded 474 wickets in 133 First-Class matches, at an average of just over 23. He last represented India in 2013, in an ODI against Australia in Bengaluru.

Here’s the full list of highest wicket-takers in Ranji Trophy:

Name of the playerNumber of wickets taken
Rajinder Goel637
S Venkataraghavan530
Sunil Joshi479
Narendra Hirwani441
BS Chandrasekhar437
VV Kumar418
Vinay Kumar412
Pankaj Singh409
Sairaj Bahutule405
Bishen Singh Bedi403
Utpal Chatterjee401

Earlier this month, Vinay Kumar became only the second fast bowler to record 400 wickets in Ranji Trophy history. “400 Ranji Trophy wickets. 397 for Karnataka and 3 for Pondicherry. Thanks to everyone who have been a part of this wonderful journey,” Kumar tweeted after achieving the feat.

Vinay has played 1 Test, 31 ODIs and 9 T20Is in which he has scalped 1, 38 and 10 wickets respectively. He has featured 105 IPL games so far and has picked 105 wickets at an economy of 8.39.