The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the teams of the tournament for the men’s and women’s ICC T20 World CUP 2016, which culminated at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday following West Indies’ win in both women’s and men’s version. Also Check- Gayle challenges Amitabh Bachchan, Virat Kohli & AB de Villiers

The teams were picked by a selected group of former cricketers and commentators. India’s star batsman and Man of the Tournament- Virat Kohli was named as men’s captain while West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor was announced as the women’s captain. Also Check- Crowd cheering for Virat Kohli & MS Dhoni at Airport is a must watch for fans

Kohli emerged as the highest run-getter in the ICC World T20 2016 for India with 273 runs from five matches, averaging 136.50. The men’s team, including 12th man, contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa, while the women’s team comprised four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia, England, and the West Indies, and one player each from Pakistan and South Africa, according to an ICC release..

The two teams are (in batting order):


1. Jason Roy (England), 2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), 3. Virat Kohli (India, captain), 4.Joe Root (England), 5. Jos Buttler (England), 6. Shane Watson (Australia), 7. Andre Russell (West Indies), 8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), 9. David Willey (England), 10.Samuel Badree (West Indies), 11. Ashish Nehra (India), 12th man. Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)


Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), 12th player. Anam Amin (Pakistan)

The selection panel that chose ICC teams of the ICC World T20 consisted of; Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, Chairman), Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler, Nasser Hussain (former England captain), Mel Jones (former Australia women’s batter, Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman), Lisa Sthalekar (former Australia women’s all-rounder).