The second edition of world’s first Ten-Over league is all set to get underway from November 23. For the first time, the T10 cricket league has been sanctioned by the world cricket body – ICC and licensed by England Cricket Board (ECB).  Former India opener Virender Sehwag has been named as one of the icons for the T10 League.  Apart from Sehwag, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi and former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum have also been named as the League icons of the second edition of the tournament. Also Read - New Zealand Cricketers Reach Home After IPL 2021 Suspension, Second Group Lands Safely

The 2018 edition will have 29 matches to be held over 10 days as compared to the four-day event in 2017. Also Read - IPL 2021: Virender Sehwag Picks 'Under The Radar' Player of The Tournament

To meet this new challenge and also to keep the event clean, the T10 League management has made many positive changes such as shortlisting an experienced CEO, forming a new governing council, appointing umpires from the ICC panel and getting a global auditing firm. Also Read - Here's What Virender Sehwag Told Venkatesh Prasad on His Viral Ad

T10 League have also appointed Roshan Mahanama and Wasim Akram as Head of Technical Committee and Director of Talent Hunt programme respectively.

Eight teams — Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons — have been drawn into two groups to fight it out in the event to be held at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 23 to December 2.

This year, two teams — The Karachians and Northern Warriors — have been added to the list of the earlier six teams.

The T10 League will showcase some of the most popular cricket stars, such as Shane Watson, Shahid Afridi, Eoin Morgan, Rasheed Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy, among many others.

(With PTI Inputs)